Excuse me, but your Electronic Footprint is stepping on my impression of you.

Dear Job Applicant or Student-Handing-Things-In-Electronically whose email address resembles any of the following:

sexygirl@somedomain.com

partytilyoupukepunk@somedomain.com

hawtkitty@somedomain.com

totalstud@somedomain.com

Really?  I mean, REALLY?  It’s your email address on your resume, not your fraternity application.  Your ‘cool/sexy-factor’ in your friends’ address books isn’t all that impressive to me and is inappropriate for this usage.

Signed,

Someone who will have a hard time taking you seriously. Seriously.

Disclaimer:  Thankfully, no one in my ECMP355 uses an email like these ones. 🙂

11 responses to “Excuse me, but your Electronic Footprint is stepping on my impression of you.

  1. This made me laugh! I definitely know a few people with emails like that.

  2. Thanks for making me smile this morning

  3. Thanks! 🙂 Have an awesome day!

  4. Hahah. I love this. I think it usually stems from pre-teens making email addresses that they think are hip and then never deleting or changing it. What a hilarious world we live in. Thanks Trina!

  5. You’re welcome, Stacey! 🙂

  6. Thanks for saving me having to give this speech. This terms class is pretty good but there’s still some tidying up people could do. Eliminating numbers in your identity can also be helpful and more professional.

    • I’m trying to change my gmail account to something different, but with a very common last name, and without a bunch of random numbers, it’s a hard thing to come up with. Suggestions?

      • Kathy Cassidy

        Try first name, middle initial, last name. That’s what I had to go with when I was late to the gmail party.

      • Also too common, unfortunately. I will need to keep working on it! Thank you, though!

  7. This is great! I totally was one of those lame pre teen kids but as soon as I started to apply for jobs I made a new appropriate one!

  8. I also have had a couple past email accounts that I’m not to proud of, but I was lucky enough to make my current account, adambrock@live.ca, when the @live.ca domain first arrived. Maybe try making an account with that domain. I don’t know how popular it is so you might be able to get what you’re looking for.

Leave a comment