“And to learn, you have to be willing to push yourself.”

(Quote by Brandi Chastain)

One of my biggest fears is always that I might fail at something that I try.  I don’t like to fail.  I don’t like if there’s a remote possibility that I will fail.  I wish I could take all the quotes about failure and live them, but it’s hard for me.   Signing up to take the ECMP355 class at the University of Regina was a GIANT step out of my comfort zone.  Having been out of the profession for a number of years and having not been a student for much, much longer, I was terrified that I would not be able to understand, keep up, or relate.  When the Learning Project was introduced to us at the beginning of this term I will admit that I panicked a little bit.  I was afraid that I would not succeed at something that I tried and worse, that since my learning was to be transparent and publicly documented, I would be publicly humiliated.

I have learned some very important things since the beginning of this term.

* I can do whatever I set my mind to.  I am relevant, motivated and intelligent enough to do this.

* Stepping outside my comfort zone is something I need to do more often.

* People are mostly good and supportive.

I substitute taught in a Core French classroom last week.  Grades One to 8, during the day.  I’m not bilingual.  In fact,  I haven’t taken French since Grade Nine but do have basic classroom instructional abilities, verbally and to read.  I amazed myself (and my own children, who I had the pleasure of teaching during the day!) with my abilities and I think that now, thanks to that experience and the confidence that taking this class and doing my learning project has reignited for me, I am going to try to take a French class next year.

This post will serve, also, as a  public thank you to my friends and family who encouraged me, pushed me, and insisted that I take these steps. You know who you are, and I will send you a link to this post to make sure you read it.   Sometimes, I need the push.  Your push helped me more than you know.

Leave a Reply

